FOOD THEORY BLOG 1

CULINARY BIOGRAPHY

Welcome

My name is Bhavya Vinayak. I am a first year student in George Brown College. Originally i am from New Delhi , India. India is a hub of various cuisines specially Mughlai , South Indian and North Indian. It is one of the country having rich culinary heritage.

A picture describing my culinary personality

Why you want to be a chef?

Since childhood I was fond of cooking food and I used to help my mother in kitchen work. Food makes everyone happy and it the need of survival. Apart from Indian cuisine, i have subsequent interest in other internationally recognized cuisines like continental , Mexican and Chinese. Moreover , to be a perfect chef one should posses good fundamental skills, techniques and knowledge of different ingredients to prepare food that satisfies human desire. Here, I would like to learn more about internationally recognized dishes that contain nice aroma, texture and taste.

Are you working in the Industry?

Currently I am not working in the industry.

Your personal philosophy of cooking.

My personal philosophy of cooking as chef is to provide food that gives the eater an experience that drives them back to my food. Coming from Indian culture, we have rich culinary heritage. We are rich in spices and food dishes that satisfies the human appetite, that somehow helps me in including ingredients that brings out the best flavor and taste. 
I tend to give food that is made of fresh ingredients to keep it healthy. I like to make my own recipes and learn from my results. 

What you hope to gain from this experience?

Attending one of the best culinary schools will provide me an exceptional experience. It will provide me a classic understanding of culinary art and its foundation. Also , the knowledge about nutrition that i hope to include in my culinary future. 
A practical experience of real world of culinary industry by giving me an opportunity to be a good team worker and providing me time management skills. 
I hope to gain a competitive edge to obtain higher level positions in cities best restaurants.

BLOG 2
Vegetable Soup

Why you chose this soup ? Any story behind it ?

I chose vegetable soup. It is one of the most consumed soup all over the world. Vegetable soup is the most nutritious meal with providing all the necessary nutrients. It is healthy dish containing vegetables providing fiber and protein. Moreover, it reduces the risk of heart diseases. Also helps in weight loss. It makes us feel fuller for long time which results in eating less.
It is being prepared in my family since ages. Whenever I fell sick, my mother used to make this soup to make me feel better. Vegetable soup is one of the most consumed recipe in my family.

My Recipe for Vegetable Soup

Vegetable Soup Serving : 2 people
Cooking time : 1 hr 15 min

Ingredients :

Cornflour  2 tsp
Onion        1 medium size
Peas           10-75g
Carrots       100g
Whole kernel
corn   20g
Green beans  20g
Lima beans    20g
Ginger    2-3g
Garlic       2 cloves
Chilli flakes
White corn starch
Celery      2 stalks
Spring onion   2 stalks

For bouquet garni :
parsley
stems
bayleaf
crushed whole black pepper
thyme
For vegetable stock

  • Take a pan add 2L water
  • Cut celery, carrots, onions and spring onions .
  • Add them into water and make it a boil
  • Add bouquet garni in it
  • Simmer the stove for about 45 minutes
  • With the help of strainer , strain the soup and collect it in a container

For soup

  • Take a pan, add ginger and garlic
  • After that add onions in it till they become soft.
  • Add all vegetables
  • Add vegetable stock in it
  • Add white corn starch mix (3tsp with ½ cup water)
  • Cook it for 5-6  minutes
  • Add chilli falkes , salt and pepper as per the taste
  • Garnish with fresh parsley
  • Serve Hot

Sensory Evaluation of soup

The soup is little sweet and spicy as it is just as I love to eat. The vegetable in it were fully tendered. It got a good consistency in the end and I managed to get all the flavors and aromas, seasonings and bouquet garni.

Have someone else try it ?

I made this soup for my sister and brother in law. They found it very tasty and it made them feel full. Also, they liked the consistency, texture and aroma of the soup.

What were the challenges involved ?

Yes it was a success. Although the only challenges I faced was making it with correct consistency with right thickness. Also, the vegetables need to be fresh and boiled nicely.
The challenging task was that my gas was an electric stove and it was bit complicated to get the idea of correct temperature when it comes to simmering in the case of soup and to make a soup clear by removing all the scum in it.

How was the learning experience ?

It always have been a great experience. I made this soup after a long time. I learnt to make the consistency right and as thick as required. Also, i learnt how to extract flavors from seasonings and bouquet garni.

Leave a comment